IVF #3: Frozen Embryo Transfer!

We made it πŸ˜‚! Our 5d old normal (PGS tested) embryo was transferred back home yesterday into my uterus. Thankfully the procedure went off without a hitch. 

The day started nicely and the evening before and morning of included lots of praying, lots of calling out to loved ones in heaven for assistance, and lots of phone calls and texts. Prayers were coming in nationwide. I hope we were loud enough. 

I was burning candles all morning, and the husband brought me budding irises on the transfer eve which were all miraculously blooming on the morning of. I took a nice, long shower and got all cleaned up for the little one. And I took a cue from a blog I follow, Surviving INfertility, and purchased a good luck pineapple shirt to wear for the occasion.

I had an acupuncture appointment at 8:50am. She was so sweet. The first half of the appointment was focused on transfer prep. I was much more sensitive to the needles…likely due to excitement and anxiousness. Normally I fall completely asleep, which is what she wants, but there was no chance of that yesterday. I did some deep breathing and more praying.

About half way through, she returned and I took my single dose doxycycline for the transfer and then she treated my back which is still not completely back to normal, but is much improved. Chinese medicine would have me return on Monday, 5dp5dt, for a treatment to aid in implantation. I’m on the fence though, as she will be out of the office and her colleague would treat me. I don’t know if I want a stranger involved at this juncture. We’ll see…

We reported to the fertility surgery center for 10:30a for an 11:30a transfer. Shortly after we arrived and signed paperwork the nurse had me take a Valium and drink water for a full bladder. The embryologist came by to give us a picture and tell us the little one looked “fantastic” and was still expanding. Everyone double checked with us, “do you want to know the sex?” No, no, no. We can’t focus on that yet. 

All we want to know is that we have a healthy, viable pregnancy.

Here is the little thing waking up:

They brought us in for the transfer early, around 11:15 as the doctor was ready to go. The procedure was fast, after they got me all tucked in, strapped to the thigh stirrups, etc. the doctor immediately got started with the speculum. The first one he used was pretty uncomfortable. I didn’t say anything but I guess he could feel me tensing up so he changed it out for a different one which was much better.

We saw our embryo in the lab on a big flat screen tv. Doc pointed out which part becomes the baby and which part becomes the placenta. Then we saw the little thing get removed from the dish and then the embryologist walked through the doorway carrying it in a U-shaped flexible straw. 

Doc inserted it through the catheter which we got to see on the ultrasound screen and then we got a picture…the little white spec in the middle is the air bubble which is right beside the embryo. Embryo baby is too small to see here.

As soon as that was done, he removed the device it was carried in and the embryologist took it back to the lab. Once again we saw on the large flat screen as she carefully washed it out under the microscope to ensure the embryo hadn’t gotten stuck to the inside of the tube. Shortly afterwards the screen read “CLEAR” and doc removed catheter, speculum etc. and we walked right out 😍. 

That was it. Easy peasy.

I took my Crinone, got dressed, and we were out. My RE gave me a hug and shook the husband’s hand. I really love our Doctor.

We had a nice lunch on the way home and picked up a few treats from a lovely bakery to take home. A slice of blueberry pie, a slice of coconut cream pie, and a coconut chocolate date macaroon. 

I spent the day relaxing, mostly in bed, but I did watch some of the DNC with the husband. Some good friends brought us dinner, comfort food from a place we like and another friend sent us a beautiful plant. We went to bed early and I slept well. 

I had a small bout of anxiety later in the day yesterday…worried that it wouldn’t work or that I would do something wrong that would cause it not to work. But I feel better today. And I dreamed last night that we got a positive pregnancy test πŸ˜€. So there’s that…I don’t know if that’s ever happened before. Good sign? I hope so!

I return to work Monday so I’ll be relaxing all weekend. My mother in law is taking me to brunch today. All’s well for this moment.

Hoping for a peaceful 2WW. Our pregnancy test is Saturday, 08/06.

xoxo 


Leave a comment